WITHOUT A METAPHOR


DEAREST,
Did you find your letter?
The quicker I post, the
quicker I need to sit down
and write again. The grass
under love’s feet never
stops growing: I must make
hay of it while the sun
shines. You say my
metaphors make you giddy.
—My dear, you, without a
metaphor in your
composition, do that to me!
So it is not for you to
complain; your curses
simply fly back to roost.
Where do you pigeon-hole
them? In a pie? (I mean to
write now until I have made
you as giddy as a dancing
dervish!) Your letters are
much more like blackbirds:
and I have a pie of them
here, twenty-four at least;
and when I open it they
sing ‘ Chewee, chewee,
chewee!’ in the most scared
way! Your last but three
said most solemnly, just as
if you meant it, ‘ I hope you
don’t keep these
miserables! Though I fill up
my hollow hours with them,
there is no reason why
they should fill up yours.’
You added that I was better
occupied— and here I am ‘
better occupied ‘ even as
you bid me. But one can
jump best from a
springboard: and how could
I j ump as far as your arms
by letter, if I had not yours
to jump from?
So you see they are kept,
and my disobedience of you
has begun: and I find
disobedience wonderfully
sweet. But then, you gave
me a law which you knew I
should disobey:—that is the
way the world began. It is
not for nothing that I am a
daughter of Eve. And here
is our world in our hands,
yours and mine, now in the
making. Which day are the
evening and the morning
now? I think it must be the
birds’—and already, with
the wings, disobedience
has been reached! Make
much of it! The day will
come when I shall wish to
obey. There are moments
when I feel a wish taking
hold of me stronger than I
can understand, that you
should command me beyond
myself — to things I have
not strength or courage for
of my own accord. How
close, dearest, when that
day comes, my heart will
feel itself to yours! It feels
close now: but it is to your
feet I am nearest, as yet.
Lift me!
There, there, Beloved, I
kiss you with all my will. Oh,
dear heart, forgive me for
being no more than I am:
your freehold to all
eternity.

897 thoughts on “WITHOUT A METAPHOR

  1. How much is a Second Class stamp? domperidone cost LONDON, July 9 (Reuters) – Brent crude oil fell to around$107 a barrel on Tuesday, as worries about supply disruptionsfrom the Middle East eased, though investors were wary thatfurther negative headlines from Egypt could lead to morevolatility.

    Like

  2. I’d like to change some money accutane 20mg journal At euronews we believe in the intelligence of our viewers and we think that the mission of a news channel is to deliver facts without any opinion or bias, so that the viewers can form their own opinion on world events.

    Like

  3. Do you have any exams coming up? refinance loans with no closing costs “When around us you see all these crises, we might create with the Palestinians and the Jordanians and hopefully in the future with the Egyptians a group of peaceful countries which understand the importance of peace and cooperation and have an impact on the whole region,” Beilin said.

    Like

  4. Have you got any qualifications? cash advance mentor oh It marked the fourth time in 2013 that the life-changing payoff broke the $300 million level. And it was the fastest Powerball jackpot payoff to reach $300 million since the lottery game launched in 1992.

    Like

  5. Directory enquiries abilify tab 10mg We have found that we can use the internet to advocate for things that we’re interested in seeing happen in the policy and regulatory environment and using all the people who are out on the internet who have an interest in these policies and activating them and making their voices heard either in local government or federal government is something we’ve done a bit of and we want to do more of and so having somebody who can help us do those sorts of thing is quite useful.

    Like

  6. I’d like to pay this in, please where to buy nolvadex 2012 The Pentagon’s Medical Standards for Appointment, Enlistment, or Induction in the Military Services includes among its list of reasons for disqualification “transsexualism, exhibitionism, transvestism, voyeurism, and other paraphilias.” That clause is wedged between anxiety disorders and alcoholism and drug abuse.

    Like

  7. There’s a three month trial period lexotan pills The Rangers began the day by swinging a deal with the Minnesota Wild for defensive depth, acquiring 6-5, 220-pound defenseman Justin Falk for minor-league forward Benn Ferriero and a 2014 sixth-round pick. Sunday night, Sather was shopping the rights to Clowe, an impending unrestricted free agent the Rangers no longer can afford since they are keeping Brad Richards’ $6.67 million salary cap hit at least one more season.

    Like

  8. History midazolam fda approval The Tier II system came under scrutiny after the explosion of a fertilizer plant in West, Texas, in April. Minutes after firefighters arrived, 40 tons of ammonium nitrate exploded, killing 11 first responders. Though federal officials say a Tier II report was on file at the fire department, surviving firefighters told Reuters they had never seen a report detailing what chemicals were stored at the factory. Had they known, they may well have stayed outside the blast zone.

    Like

  9. Why did you come to ? consolidator debt The former neighborhood watch volunteer has been charged with second-degree murder for fatally shooting the teenager last year, to which he has pleaded not guilty. He does not deny shooting Martin, but says he acted in self-defense.

    Like

  10. In tens, please (ten pound notes) seroquel cost canada “I think not only in Britain would people say you’re not doing this properly, but I think the rest of the world where Margaret Thatcher meant a huge amount as well, would think we were completely wrong.”

    Like

  11. I’ll call back later till klonopin 2mg teva standstill Mr Hague said: “Asia is the engine of the world’s growth today, and we want to be part of that success story. In some respects we already are, and UK exports to the Asia Pacific region are up 20 per cent year on year. But we need to do more. Creating jobs and growth in our economy like any other will depend overwhelmingly on expanding trade and investment – and we know that much of the opportunity for that lies in the vast markets of this region.”

    Like

  12. Nice to meet you price of tamoxifen The forecast from Swiss Re compares to an earlier warning from a damage modeling agency that losses could top $8 billion. That, and its estimate of a $300 million hit for its own results, saw shares in Swiss Re and some other sector firms rise.

    Like

  13. I went to 100 mg topamax day That day, Democratic state Rep. Rashida Tlaib of Detroit called the State Police about trying to speed up the test. She had one of the girl’s parents on the phone, too. Trouble was, the rape kit wouldn’t even arrive to State Police from Detroit for three more days.

    Like

  14. Could I ask who’s calling? highlight interest only real estate loans puff The Egyptians general overthew a democratically elected government in Egypt.  And, the US, the beacon of democracy, has been turning a blind eye to the truth.  Not only has there been a military coup, those same generals are throwing everything that they have against the Muslim Brotherhood while the US looks on with approval.  The world watches our every action and shakes its head at how two faced we really are in our international policies. 

    Like

Leave a Reply

